post

Medlock Soul Revival: Installation (development)

Having acquired a decent display case I proceeded to fill it with all the bits and pieces I have collected along the banks and vicinity of the River Medlock. But looking at it, I decided it was no good. It looked like a pseudo-museum. So I collected sand from the Ancoats beach area and settled on the orange bucket and green ball to sum up this phase of the project. I was going to let the sand dry out, but much to my surprise and delight small sprouts started to grow within 48 hours. Obvious really, that there would be some sort of seeds in the sand of a riverbank. So my installation has become a living thing, and I intend to cultivate the seeds all the way to the exhibition in a couple of weeks.

IMG_3150 IMG_3153 IMG_3159 IMG_3160 IMG_3164 IMG_3167 IMG_3170

Leave a Reply

